Governor’s Arts Awards

The 2015 Poster for the Governor's Arts Awards feature's Marty Stuart performing at Festival South in Hattiesburg.  Stuart received a Governor's Arts Award in 1999. Photo by James Patterson, designed by Creative Distillery.

The Governor’s Arts Awards are presented annually to outstanding writers, artists, performers, craftsmen and educators who have made significant and lasting contributions through their work as well as to corporations or organizations on the basis of their dedication to arts advancement. Previous winners include B.B. King, James “Super Chikan” Johnson, Mary Katharine Loyacono McCravey, the late Little Milton (Campbell), Dr. David Blackburn, the Mississippi Alliance for Arts Education, USA International Ballet Competition, William Eggleston, Bo Diddley and Charles Burnett.

Nominations are made annually by the general public and the recipients are selected by a panel of experts across all fields of the arts. 


Governor & Mrs. Bryant with the 2015 recipients of the Governor's Arts Awards


The 2015 Governor's Arts Awards were held on Thursday, February 19, 2015 in the Concert Hall of Belhaven University Center for the Arts



Complete listing of previous Governor's Arts Award recipients